# **Valley-Dowling** is state hockey champ

MASON CITY - Valley-Dowling became the first team with a losing record to win a state high school hockey tournament Sunday when the Tigers shut down Sioux City, 4-1, at the North Iowa Recreational Arena.

All-state goaltender Eric Gibson kicked away 27 of Sioux City's 28 shots on net as Valley won its first title. The Tigers scored in every period and built a 3-0 lead before Sioux City got on the scoreboard.

But even with three state tournament victories. Valley-Dowling finishes just 10-11 for the season. going 7-11 in the Iowa High School Hockey League and finishing fourth.

Forward Ted Grob was named tournament MVP while linemate Tony Dressen scored twice Sunday and finished with six goals and one assist in three tourney games.

Columbus defeated the Waterloo Warriors, 2-1, in a crisp game for third place.

Justin Smith got the Sailors on the scoreboard 4:20 into the second period, but Chad McFarland tied it for the Warriors with 3:03 left.

Jason Bloom then produced the game-winner for Columbus with just 2:23 to play with assists from the top two scorers in the IHSHL. Brian Wehr and Neal Lanigan.

Goaltender Jason Hedican had 24 saves for the Sailors, who finish their season 20-2. They went 17-1 in IHSHL play, won a tournament at Chippewa Falls, Wis., and finished 2-1 in the See HOCKEY Continued on page B3; col. 5

#### Third place Columbus 2, Warriors 1 SCORE BY REBIODS

Warriors 0 1 0 -	- 1
Columbus 0 1 1 -	- 2
FIRST PERIOD - No scoring. Penalty - Dutkowski	C.
hooking 13:44).	
SECOND PERIOD - 1. Columbus, Smith (J. Bloo	m.
Wiedner) 4:20; 2, Warriors, McFarland (Henn) 11:57, P.	

THIRD PERIOD - 3. Columbus, J. Bloom (Lanigan, Wehr) 12:37. Penalties - none.

#### SHOTS ON GOAL Warriors..... 8 Columbus.....

#### Championship

#### Vall.-Dowling 4, Sioux City 1 SCORE BY PERIODS

Valley-Dowling..... FIRST PERIOD — 1. Valley-Dowling, Blackburn (Watson) 13:11. Penalty — Goodwin (VD, elbowing) 11:42. SECOND PERIOD — 2. Valley-Dowling, Strako (Forret, Watson) 1:06; 3. Valley-Dowling, Dressen (Grob) 6:47. Penalties — B. Post (SC, holding) 1:22; Goodwin (VD, tripping) 7:37; Richou (SC, hooking) 11:44; Keith (SC, slashing) 13:59.

THIRD PERIOD - 4. Sioux City, VanRooyan (Keith) 6:24; 5. Valley-Dowling, Dressen (Krueger) 10:24. Penalties - Feyen (VD, tripping) 1:46; Graber (SC, holding) 2:24; McCoy (VD, cross-checking) 2:52; Dressen (VD, elbowing) 4:37; Lake (SC, high-sticking) 13:01; Grob (VD, elbowing) 14:50.

### SHOTS ON GOAL

Linesman: Del Donaldson.

#### 1987-88 All-State

FORWARDS - Wade Weltha (Ames), Neal Lanigan (Columbus), Brian Wehr (Columbus), Tomas Conradi (Warriors), Chad McFarland (Warriors), Pete Dale (Urbandale), Eric Conard (Urbandale), Brian Krueger (Valley-Dowling), Ted Grob (Valley-Dowling), Jeremy

Scheetz (Mason City), Todd Coyle (Sioux City).

DEFENSEMEN — Jeff Wiedner (Columbus), Scott Jasper (Columbus), Scott A. Smith (Warriors), Ryan Goodwin (Valley-Dowling), Dustin Duea (Mason City), Dirk Richou (Sioux City)

GOALTENDERS - Eric Gibson (Valley-Dowling), Scott Patrick (Sioux City).

HONORABLE MENTION (Waterloo only) - Bill Fratzke (Columbus), Justin Smith (Columbus), Andy MacLennan (Columbus), Mike Saddler (Columbus), Jason Bloom (Columbus), Jason Hedican (Columbus), Dave Richardson (Warriors), Jeff Frazee (Warriors), Rob Hall (Warriors), Brandon Bunger (Warriors).

## **Hockey**

CONTINUED FROM PAGE B1

state tournament, losing in the semifinals to champion Valley-Dowling.

Columbus Coach Mike Brown was voted coach of the year following the tournament. Sailors on the first allstate team were forwards Lanigan and Wehr along with defensemen Scott Jasper and Jeff Wiedner.

Ames won the sportsmanship award.

The Warriors finish their season 13-7-1 and had three all-state selections - forward Tomas Conradi, defenseman Scott Smith and forward Chad McFarland.